Warren Pears

We had some pruning done on the pear trees and were finally able to reach the fruit at the very top. This is the season when our fridge is packed full of brown paper bags full of fruit: some varieties of pears require a couple weeks of chilling before they are fully ripe. There is not one inch of room in there for regular groceries. 

I was the groundsman on the pruning job for the too tall plum:  hauling cut branches, cutting them up for the Green Waste can, picking up the dropped leaves, oh my. It's been awhile since I worked so hard.

Also harvested a couple flats of tomatoes. Getting ready to can over the weekend, maybe dry a batch or two while I'm at it. We grow the Early Girl variety, and don't water at all after the first couple weeks. Makes for the sweetest fruit. Been eating them for lunch and dinner, along with a good portion of string beans. I love this harvest time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.