Done and dusted...

Senior Prize Giving tonight with our Es!

At this point in the evening I had forgiven her for running out to help at Brownies, albeit very admirable, texting me from Brownies to print out her speech, leaving her Father to punch a hole in the straps of her new shoes so they would fasten round her ankles, ignoring my texts from outside the Brownie Hall to tell her we were outside to collect her to get to Prize Giving...I eventually had had enough and marched into the hall to collect her, while since I’ve collected Es from Brownies, lol, and having us run in at last minute to said Prize Giving event.

She won me over with the speech she delivered as retiring Head Girl. I hadn’t read it when I printed it out, no time, but also I had no heads up last year of the speech she gave when she took on the role of head girl so the precedent had been set.

We knew she was receiving the sixth year award fir the highest mark in Advanced Higher English in the school. Neither she nor her Father and I knew she was also receiving one of the special awards given out on the evening. She received the HW Ewing Memorial Prize for Creative Writing, “her writing over the year showed a depth and maturity when expressing aspects of her own experience across a number of different genres”

She and the out going Head Boy also received the WG Malcolm Prize for service to the School and the Community.

She also spoke very well. I’m a biased critic but her delivery and content were spot on in my opinion...and a few folk at the end spoke to us and said so too:-)

It goes without saying that MrR and I are extremely proud of this young woman. It seems like only yesterday I was watching her tired wee body walk up the street with MrR after her first week in Primary One. My heart still breaks when I think on that memory of that knackered wee soul. She has grown into a determined and hard working young woman. MrR and I have never had to be on Es’s case to get the books out, sometimes I’ve been on her case to put the books away!

After the Prize Giving we went home to her brothers and had some chocolate cake to celebrate her success. There might have been pizza too...as she had gone to Brownies without eating her dinner.

Grateful for a lovely evening with family...it helped erase the memory of the stress before the event, lol!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.