In My World

By JoanneInOz

Brit. Lit.

I have abbreviations for all of the units I study for my uni degree - no prize for guessing the full title for this particular unit though! Add "Nineteenth-Century" as a prefix and you have the complete picture.

Great Expectations is the next book in line for study, after I finish reading the last couple of chapters of another book, The Coral Island, a juvenile fiction adventure story written in 1858 by R.M. Ballantyne. 

While reading The Coral Island  I've remembered an old book I had once loved a lifetime ago, and when I Googled the basic outline of the story - from my very faded memory of it - I discovered it was The Secret Mountain by Enid Blyton, written in 1938. Of course I had to order a copy, second-hand from E bay, so I could read it for old-time sake, and hopefully one of my grandchildren will enjoy the story when they are older.

It's been a great day for staying indoors and reading today, (although most of my reading has been for an assignment I'm working on for a different unit), with the weather turning pretty dismal this afternoon. At least the rain is keeping the garden happy - and me away from the garden when I need to be working on my assignment!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.