Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Turning the Banksia Nut.

     I have now started to turn the nut and as I said in my blip on Saturday 1st Sept to show you the different stages of the turning. 
     The red 'Fluff' you see are the seeds which are well protected within the nut. They are released in natural conditions by either fire or rotting. The nut is the only part of the Banksia tree that is solid enough for wood turning applications.

In the extra I have turned it more so that all the 'fluff' has almost  but disappeared. The holes go right down to the solid core of the nut. I will pick out the debris from the holes after I have finished turning it but before I sand it. 
     Whilst working on this, as I do anyway what ever I am turning , I wear a fine filtered face mask, gloves and a workshop apron. The dust created is tremendous. The red 'fluff gets everywhere.

I will be making a small pot from this turning and will continue to post shots of the progress I am making with it.

Hope you are all well and enjoy the weekend.
Take care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.