International

Between the summer of 2002 and early 2004, I was working in London. I was still freelancing then, and I'd taken a contract with JPMorgan, for whom I'd worked previously in Glasgow. I was on a day rate but didn't arrive until Monday lunchtime and left early Friday afternoon, so although no one seemed to be monitoring my time, I'd work late on a Monday and put in long days in the middle of the week.

Which was made easy enough by how much I had to do, initially, and then, later, by the fact that I was working with people based in New York. I had no facility for working away from the office - although that would change in 2004 - so I would stay in the office for calls during the evening, which, of course, was their afternoon. Sometimes these would go on so late that I'd bob out to Gap for fresh clothes and then stay in a local hotel rather than heading down to my folks'.

I thought those days were behind me but at the moment we're working with some Canadian investors who are eight hours behind us. They're good about doing what are, for them, very early morning calls but this evening we had a call at 10am, their time, six pm for us. But things have changed a lot over the last fifteen years and I was able to do the call on my mobile from the car, sat in the David Lloyd car park, whilst accessing files on my iPad.

After that, I had a swim and then, having returned to the Minx's house, realised I hadn't taken a photo, today. So here's a picture of one of my amps, the one that resides in Chorley. It sits in the living room, reminding me that I need to pick up the guitar again.

****
-13.3 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Vinegar Girl' by Anne Tyler.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.