Light & sight

By CameronDP

Ancestors

Meet (two of) my great grandparents.....the gentleman on the right is Charles Geddie, who came from near Elgin in Moray and was, I understand, a native speaker of Gaelic. According to family legend, he would slip into the Celtic tongue when annoyed with his wife Mary Jane on the left. She came, if memory serves, from somewhere in Dumfries and Galloway . Charles is shown here wearing the uniform of a World War One ambulance driver (I think!) And the wee lass with Mary Jane is my grandmother Anne, known for the last few decades of her life as Granny Annie, by which time she had immovably settled in Coldstream and was reluctant to move far from her sofa.
And if you look very closely, you can even see a little glimpse of me....

PS: I am a little behind with my comments at the moment: please bear with me kind people! I will catch up soon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.