A Monkey's Tale

By MonkeyWithAView

The Spartan 'Beast'

All our preparation, blood, sweat & tears finally culminated in an 18km obstacle run at Brands Hatch Race Course. It goes by the name of the Spartan Beast, & it eats those who try to conquer it for breakfast!

.. Well that's not strictly true, but I'm trying to set the scene for those who didn't quite fancy turning up & thrashing themselves to near exhaustion.

For those interested, check out this link http://www.spartanrace.com/spartan-beast-obstacle-course-race.html

I'm attempting to keep today's blip short & sweet as I can barely keep my head upright or from falling flat out onto my keyboard. However, that never happens, despite my best intentions.

It was great fun (possibly something I will agree with more & more with the passing of time & the healing of sore legs) & an extreme challenge. Spikey, Sam & Mike were fantastic team mates & kept me cantering even when it didn't seem possible, even when I thought my best option was to slop on the ground in a quivering, jelly-fied mess. Thanks lads! Good game!

We crawled through the ice, scaled the high slippy ramp, slid down the rope & pictured here, we charged the pugil sticks & all took one in the face or elsewhere for the team. Ouch! We proudly collected our medals & t-shirts, & I for one slumped immediately onto Jenny & Ria, muddy, shattered & relieved.

The Gamecock pub, a short trip down the road, gave us the other reward we'd be longing for & "sluuurp", what a relief that G&T was.

We're very proud of our achievement today & we may have a little think before we sign up for the next one. A big thankyou to Mum, Ri & Jenny who provided some much needed to support today, I couldn't have scaled those last obstacles without your cheers, nor could I have got my trainers off when we got back to the car. Much love.

To BED, for we rise at daybreak (or thereabouts). Sleep well Spartan Warriors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.