Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Hard life for a cactus flower

It is cactus flowering time in our conservatory. The flowers are only close to perfect the first day they open and I have missed a few while I was away over the last couple of days. I was eyeing up this specimen this morning, thinking that the bud would make a good blip. I missed out, though, as the flower is now fully open. On careful examination, apart from some browning around the edges of the petals, there are also some tears. I presume these occur as the petals unfurl through the cactus spines. A dangerous environment for the insects that come to pollinate it, you might think. I have a bumble bee impaled on the spine of another specimen. I assume that the prolific production of pollen must compensate for the risks involved in harvesting it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.