lynne_owen

By lynne_owen

Eastney Pump House

I thought we might have gone for a cycle ride or a walk today but one dodgy move trying to lift a laundry basket at a funny angle put a stop to that!
My back went into some kind of spasm and I am now walking around very very gingerly.  At least I'm walking. 
I was keen to visit this Victorian pump house in Eastney, Southsea which was having an open day.  This pump house had been pumping out the sewage from Portsmouth, into the sea for over a hundred years but thankfully, not any more. I think it is still pumped into the sea, but it is treated first. It was run by keen enthusiasts who were well into their huge engines.  I liked this very little oil can ( well it was red!).
My back held out enough to visit The Spice Island pub and watch the boats, coming in, and going out again! (Vic Reeves fans will get this)
Back home to a lovely roast, cooked by my better half :-)) (I like to let him think that)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.