bananablip

By bananablip

Shameless selfies

My friend, who has been ill and was travelling down from Yorkshire to run today, told me she was going to let me know her final decision by yesterday morning. Here's how that thread went:

10.30am - I'm not going to run, I feel rough and it's just not a good idea.

11.30am - Oh sod it, what's the worst that can happen. I'll do it.

5.30 - Currently in A&E with small daughter. She's just ripped a finger nail off so should be fine and I'll travel down tonight.

7.30 - She's broken her finger.

Needless to say, it was just me running today. A promising start to the day but ended up running in the rain, again.

I feel a bit stupid after all my moaning yesterday, because it was actually quite a good race, despite my lack of training. I decided to alternate my miles by absolutely rinsing it for a mile and then recovering for a mile. This was going wonderfully until mile 10 when I just ran out of steam. A bit more training and I would have nailed it. I think I was only about a minute off last year's PB so feeling really good about that.

Robert and I always hark back to the glory days of Weston Park where we both got absolutely stonking 10km PBs (2007 maybe?!). Anyway my new aim is to concentrate on 10km training and try and beat that.

Sorry for the boring running talk, but I know I'll want to look back on it.

(Meanwhile, I'm going to search for blip evidence of that 10km. It will be worth it for Rob's hair!)

(Ok, it was 2008. And here's the glorious evidence: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/201958 )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.