DiamondJack

By DiamondJack

My Dad

We lost my dad today. He had been ill for some time. In and out of hospital and up and down like a fiddler's elbow. Yesterday was a really good day. Laughing and joking with the family. Having a great time. Today he took a dramatic turn for the worst. My brother phoned me as we were heading to the hospital and said that things had changed. We got there ten minutes later. He gripped my hand so strongly that I thought that the rest of the family were mistaken. I expected him to open his eyes and crack a joke or something, but he just passed away. It was as if he had been waiting for us to get there. I have so many amazing memories of this man. He was a legend. I am so proud to be his son. Rest in peace, Pa. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.