Sometimes you just get lucky

The alternative title for this was going to be "It's a fracture Jim, but not as we know it"! (Star Trek fans will get that).

Because the bruise was travelling up my leg each day I was advised, by Julia and Dean, to seek medical advice. I managed to get an appointment with the GP at 11:00 this morning. After examining my foot and ankle she made an urgent appointment with imaging at Gloucestershire Royal outpatients.
I attended an appointment at 14:00 and was told there was nothing obvious but a radiologist would examine the X-Ray and advise my GP.

Early evening my GP called me to say I needed to go to A&E because my ankle bone had a chip in it.
Marlane drove me to A&E and went home as I expected to be anything up to 6 hours waiting.

The two ladies on reception told me to go straight through to imaging (not the same one as the afternoon), not even any paperwork.
It took a good while to convince the imaging staff that I didn't need to go back to my GP as she had rung me with the results.
To cut a very long story short, one of the imaging staff took me to another desk where a very nice chap had my X-Ray on screen. He took me behind the desk and showed me the tiny weeny teeny chip off the bone!
I asked what were the consequences of leaving it, he told me it would be a lot more traumatic to do something with it and I had a choice. Hobble around and keep it elevated when I can, or be stuck in an unnecessary plaster for 6 weeks - Hmmmmm, took me about half a millisecond to think about it and went home, after saying thank you to him, the imaging staff and the two ladies on A&E reception for saving me hours of waiting. There were about 50 people waiting in A&E, no wonder the NHS is being driven into the ground under the weight of the work, I bet 80% of those people really didn't need to be there.

So all is well, it still hurts but it's really not that bad. Oh, one thing - I said "so I just keep taking the Ibuprofen then?" and he told me not to take Ibuprofen, it suppresses the inflammation which is important for the healing process, who would have thought that?

I promise that's the last you'll hear of my leg troubles :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.