JoeyG

By JoeyG

6yrs Late

It’s been 6yrs since the London Olympics; although I have whizzed by on the train several times during its construction to completion, it’s the first time I’ve actually walked it’s pavements. It’s a desolate experience compared to how it was six Summers ago, though I’m sure Its heaving on match day as West Ham United made the main stadium it’s home. I don’t do football.

This great red obelisk once housed the BBC for all of it’s live feeds and commentaries; I don’t know what the studios have become but I do know it’s been made into a giant Helter Skelter and you can absail down the whole thing, should you so wish.

I’ve had a day of travelling to meet some family and a friend. Breakfast at the home of my paternal Aunt and Uncle in Ilford; they then drove me for lunch at Starbucks with my maternal Uncle and Aunt in Romford, after which I met my friend from work for a catch up and mooch around the Olympic Village, Stratford.

In the extras is a picture of what used to be my cousin’s Salon in Romford - the only reason I would ever come back to the town centre - but since it closed down early this year there’s little reason for me to come back. For convenience I met family in the coffee shop as it is near the station and I have been on the go all day. Clearly it must be a pop up green grocers as they’re haven’t bothered to take away the salon signage. Lazy!

I am finallly going back to my bestie’s now for a chill, dinner and Bake Off. It’s my last night with her and my furry feline nephew before a day in London tomorrow and trip back home to the seaside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.