Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Gardening

A morning of gardening. For some. Though I did sit and watch most of the activity, I swept up afterwards. And I re-organised the sheds, moving the recliner chairs from the back shed to the wee front lock up shed - I doubt that we'll be using them again this year...

Rufus and his mum popped in on the way to the shop to stock up on coffee and biscuits for her workmen. Rufus stayed with us, not being allowed in the shop. He didn’t cry, but did keep a look out for his mum returning. Actually, they could have both just walked out through the gate if they’d really wanted to.

After her fitness class, gym session and gardening, JR then took Archie on a big walk while I waited for the boiler man. Again. The wifi thermostat for the boiler sounded like a good idea, but I’ve had a few problems with it. It comes on whenever it wants, so I re-set it to ‘factory settings'. I wanted rid of the winter times the boiler man had put in for me, but he'd set them too high. Just not needed. Yet, anyway. But I also apparently 'un-paired' it from the other bit - cue flashing lights on the wee box thingie on the wall. However, all sorted again, and I promised the poor chap (who's been three times) that I wouldn’t fiddle with it again. It will be really good in the winter, when we have the woodfire on as well, as we tend to get very very hot and have to get up and down turning the fire down, the radiator down, then the fire up again. The thermostat will keep an even temperature and switch off the radiator as needed. Looking forward to winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.