Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Am I boring you yet?

a day at the desk
photo opps do not abound
black mirror it is

Well, it's a bit of a fib I'm telling in the haiku, as the start of the evening was spent with the Troupe reading through the pantomime's script. Good to hear the voices the parts will be said in, rather than doing them all in my head. What fun this is going to be! Next week it'll be on the stage with us, so you might get a picture of that, but this week it was only a bunch of people seated in a circle. Not that I've never bored you with such a photo, mind you... ;-)

In business news, I phoned the agency I'm working with at the moment in the morning - the lady who does the proofreading before sending the translations to the clients came back from her holidays at the end of last week and sent me the reports on the work I sent while she was away. Well, the least I can say is I'm early in my apprenticeship. :-D I called to talk about what she sent back and she was very reassuring. Basically, as I worked without a safety net (well, without feedback would be a better wording), I made all the mistakes in the book, but that is what happens to every new translator in that field, so apparently I should not worry. I just have to study her written feedback and learn! She suggested I work again in the latest job I sent before she takes a look at it and, lo! and behold, I found there was much to rework in light of her most recent remarks. I am learning, and it makes the job so very interesting! I talked to the agency manager after that, and it seems he appreciated the fact that I called to check in and talk with Elizabeth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.