SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Conference

After sleeping badly last night, I needed a lie-in, and then worked in my room for the rest of the morning. I did see one half-interesting talk before lunch, but afterwards I skipped an awards ceremony and one of the great and the good delivering a "career review" plenary. Finally it was time for me to give my talk, and the audience consisted of  "friends" and the silent uninterested. After the last talk in my stream, I switched to the "Operational Research in Sport" stream, with one talk analysing points scoring and entertainment in rugby. To explain the scoring system, the speaker opened with a video of the great Gareth Edwards try in 1973! Now, that was entertaining!

Maybe chat at tonight's gala dinner will be more worthwhile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.