GinaW

By GinaW

Snow Globes on Southbank


"Inside the snow globe on my father's desk, there was a penguin wearing a red-and-white-striped scarf. When I was little my father would pull me into his lap and reach for the snow globe. He would turn it over, letting all the snow collect on the top, then quickly invert it. The two of us watched the snow fall gently around the penguin. The penguin was alone in there, I thought, and I worried for him. When I told my father this, he said, "Don't worry, Susie; he has a nice life. He's trapped in a perfect world."

? Alice Sebold, The Lovely Bones

I am lucky to work close to Southbank (London) which at anytime of year is a wonderful place to sit and watch the world go by - at the moment there is the christmas market. So many stalls including one just selling snow globes. I bought an amazing red wool scarf. It is so big and fluffy makes my head look tiny ... but it is so so warm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.