Nose Work

Thank you for all the lovely comments, hearts and stars for Hero yesterday <3

I had a long day at work. I didn't leave until 4.30 pm. 

I was supposed to go to Hvalsø for Gollum and Biscuit's Nose Work class, but I have a bit of a cold. Nothing too bad, but I have some busy days ahead of me, so I thought an early night was better than going to the dog club for several hours. 

So I sent a message to the trainer saying that I wouldn't come tonight and then I took the boys for a walk in the woods.

I felt bad about the boys missing their training, so I did some Nose Work searches with them in the woods after our walk.

I did 2 searches with each of them. The first one was rather difficult - 3 lavender swabs hidden in quite a large area. 

The next one was a lot easier - 8 swabs in a smaller area, so it was easy for them to have success and get a reward. I finished with 3 highly motivated boys.

I did one last search for Gollum before I went home. He has had so little Nose Work training, but he is just so talented. It seems to be very easy for him and he is so keen. I really ought to do more Nose Work with him, but we like our Heelwork To Music too and it is hard to find time to do both.

I managed to walk dogs and do Nose Work with all 3 boys and still be home at 6.45 pm. If I had gone to the dog club, I would have been home at 8ish and only trained 2 dogs. So of course the dog club would have been fun, but today working at home was a better choice.

My picture today is of Gollum, who is showing me the source of the lavender odor he is searching for. The white piece of cotton has been contaminated with lavender scent. 

See you tomorrow
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

In Nose Work, dogs learn to search for a specific odor or odors and find the source. Today it was lavender as that is the first odor they will meet if they ever get to go to a competition. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.