MyCountryWalks

By MyCountryWalks

Uncle Tob Cobley...

...at Widecombe Fair.

This was the reason for my return - my old walking friends had put me down to lead the Tuesday walk to the fair - how could I refuse!

Very different conditions to yesterday when we set out from just below Grimspound. Typical Dartmoor rain and mizzle - see the first extra by the RAF memorial on Hamel Down and the second one as we came up between Chinkwell and Honeybag Tor (Honeybag is the one in background). Down at the fair the sun was shining when we arrived for lunch. Several thousand others were there enjoying the fun - see the third and fourth extras. Our return route took us back up to Hamel Down and back into the clouds. Most enjoyable and it felt like I had never left.

Widecombe Fair Song

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.