NellieD

By NellieD

Everything is Connected

Well that was a busy day! I think everyone has realised I'm leaving the office in two weeks. There seems to be so much to do and so little time, but I can only do as much as I can do.

I didn't get out at lunch so managed to get this blip on my way home. I saw it last night and thought it a lovely sentiment.

Mayfield Station was opened in 1910 and was a relief station to alleviate overcrowding at Piccadilly train station. It was closed to passengers in 1960 and finally closed to all services in 1986. The site is currently the property of London and Continental Railways.

In 2013, it housed the Manchester International Festival and the performance of Massive Attack vs Adam Curtis, the most random night out I've ever had in a disused warehouse! It was promoted as a "Gilm" - the integration of a gig with a film that had a "powerful overall narrative and emotional individual stories" with music from Barbara Streisand to Siberian punk!

Quote for today:
The most basic and powerful way to connect to another person is to listen. Just listen. Perhaps the most important thing we ever give each other is our attention ... a loving silence often has far more power to heal and to connect then the most well-intentioned words.
- Rachel Naomi Remen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.