Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Monarch Chrysalis

Found this in my vegetable garden today. Looks like it'll be emerging soon. That said, this was taken at about 4:30 PM and I just checked on it - nearly 7:00 - and it's not there yet. So... overnight?

Weird day today re. nature. In the past few days I've heard red-shouldered hawks screaming fairly regularly. I generally go outside and have a look. Sometimes I see one, sometimes not. A couple of days ago I saw two. But today there were SIX soaring around above our house. Occasionally two of them would sort of tangle briefly and then they'd go back to soaring. I have NO idea what that was about. Eventually they went away. Extra shows a shot I got with four of them in it. It's hard in our yard because of all the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.