ella’s pre-birthday festivities

Ella is 6 on Monday and chose to celebrate with a bike ride from Buxton to Bakewell. It’s a lovely trail down the old railway, only 10 miles but that’s a fair way with little legs. Ella’s were amongst the littlest legs on there but that girl can fly. I’d be unsurprised to see her racing a BMX at the Olympics some day!

The baby is still too little to (safely) transport on bike so he, my sister and I waited along the route at Hassop Station cafe. Honestly speaking, I’m not sure my post-birth body was quite ready to sit in the saddle either! The children were very happy to stop for an ice cream with us before carrying on to Bakewell for fish and chips by the river. I basically did all of the eating and none of the biking.

As I drove along the route I felt like I was missing out on the fun with the children and would rather be on my bike. But I know I’ll read about this on blip one day and think wistfully of the time I could avoid exercise and still eat like a pig with the perfectly valid excuse of keeping my energy up to feed the babe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.