Alcohol warning!

I, very nearly, shot the run-off from roof drainage at the south-bound Westmorland Services as an illustration of the day's weather.

Weather was such that there was Bugg Roll incentive to stray over the doorstep. With the pair of us going stir crazy we opted for a dash down the M6 to Westmorland services for a brew, excuse was that Gaffer wanted a particular purchase on the N-bound side.

At the S-bound side we had the brew and a wander around the shop area. We're so placed that it's only another couple of miles to junction #38 where we leap off and head back north, calling in there on the way back.

Whilst touring the S-bound I was admiring the assortment of bottled beers. One particular brew caught my eye ... an "I.P.A" (A sample of "falling down water" if ever I saw one, 9.2% alcohol). I was also more than a bit chuffed to find bottles of Chase vodka. If you're into vodka it's British made from British spuds and 40% ABV, highly recommended.
There was a bloke in the vicinity eager to impart knowledge. He reckoned the I.P.A. was an Edinburgh brew and there's a pub up there refuses to serve it in greater quantity than a 1/2 pint.
We can, neither of us, remember where it was, but I snapped the back of the bottle, looked up brewdog.com and found this quote (As being, possibly, the nearest to P.C. I could quote)
"Say goodbye to the corporate beer whores, crazy for power and world domination. Swear allegiance to the uncompromising revolution.
Taste the hops, live the dream. Learn to speak beer, love fruit and never forget you come from a long line of truth seekers, movers and warriors - the outlaw elite. Ride toward anarchy and caramel craziness. Let the sharp bitter finish rip you straight to the tits.
"

THAT is not the alcohol warning I wish to promulgate.

She who must be obeyed quoth thusly ... "Get yourself a bottle, if you like." (The I.P.A. not the vodka you understand)
"Nah. I'll buy it on the way North, if it's not there I'm not meant to have it.
It wasn't, nor was there ANY alcohol of any description. Upon enquiry we were told they had not been granted a licence, she thought it was something to do with the age of the building.
YER WHAT????? What has that got to do with the price of fish? Does that mean there are no more old pubs? Does that mean you can't open any more ethanol outlets?
DUH?!?!?!?!?!?
Here's the warning.
If you expect an alcohol purchase while travelling North, don't expect it from Westmorland services.

The Blip?
Oh nothing to do with my alcohol consumption. As LA will happily inform you I still see many things through the eyes of a child and consequently take a delight in certain parts of shops aimed at kiddywinks. In the Northbound sales area I spotted an object faintly resembling a short, fat, Kaleidoscope. There was a notice on the box to the effect that you could see the world "like bugs do" (Or similar). Couldn't resist a swift peep.
On the left if what the camera saw. I didn't foresee it as a Blip and hadn't the sense to blip what the camera saw without it. Consequently the right hand side gives an enlarged view of a tiny portion of the scene, anybody with sprogs might be able to tell me what it is, looks a wee bit Bob the builder-ish. Or maybe I can see a tortoise.

I do wish themoverthere wouldn't call tortoises "Turtles" They're NOT.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.