summer's end

Yes, I know it's not autumn yet, but I'm going away tomorrow and when I come back , it will be. I harvested lots of beans, tons of apples and some grapes today, and picked some blackberries by the roadside for a final crumble.

These (purple) poppies have grown from seed which I brought from my Mum and Dad's old house a couple of years ago. They have moved since then, but poppy seedlings stowed away in pots to populate their new patch. Nice to have something from the old place :-)

The End of Summer
by Edna St. Vincent Millay
When poppies in the garden bleed,
And coreopsis goes to seed,
And pansies, blossoming past their prime,
Grow small and smaller all the time,
When on the mown field, shrunk and dry,
Brown dock and purple thistle lie,
And smoke from forest fires at noon
Can make the sun appear the moon,
When apple seeds, all white before,
Begin to darken in the core,
I know that summer, scarcely here,
Is gone until another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.