La Vie à Quatre Roues! Jour 16

L’Aigle, Normandy

Another early start (definitely not a relaxing holiday!) in order to cross into Normandy and get to L’Aigle for their weekly market, the third largest market in France. As has been the pattern throughout this trip, we arrived so early that things had only just got started, but as the morning progressed the market and the town really livened up. I do love French markets, so much colour and so much life, but being a veggiehead, I do struggle with the livestock areas of the market. I just like to think that all these baby bunnies and ducklings were bought as cuddly pets…

After doing our shopping and a café stop to sit and take in the hustle and bustle of the market, it was back on the road through the rolling green hills of Normandy, past apple orchards, spotty cows and old timbered farmhouses to the tiny village of Camembert (see cheesy extra). We decided not to visit the cheese museum, but did visit La Maison du Camembert where I had great fun having my photo taken to go in the centre of a Camembert label!

Continuing on through the picturesque countryside (I do love Normandy) we arrived at Falaise, our final campsite of the trip. When I was eight years old, I camped here with my parents. I have vivid memories of the castle, the birthplace of William the Conqueror, towering above the campsite; a fitting and majestic sight for our last night in France… (see extra)

(Backblip posted 16th September)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.