Portobello Beach

Today was the day of the Edinburgh Kiltwalk. Our fundraising team had elected to do the middle sized walk. 15.5 miles from Musselburgh to Murrayfield. I took this (phone) photograph at Portobello (where I did not see WhiskyFoxtrot). The route then took us to the Shore at Leith (where I did not see Meles), to Newhaven, Granton, Silverknowes and along the cycle path to Murrayfield. Apart from a couple of busy roads it was a really delightful route. At Mile 4 there was a squall with rain and a nasty wind but after that cleared the weather was ok. We did a steady 3 miles per hour and, because of three pitstops, arrived at the finish line at about 16:30. I wouldn't recommend this as a thing to do on the first day back from holiday but I'm delighted that we all finished and finished in a decent time. A bit stiff and I'm sure I'll feel it tomorrow. Not sure how I'll walk the dog.

Home, quick shower, change out of kilt, along to friends for a drink to celebrate completion of some building work they've had and I'm now in bed. Where I intend to stay for a long number of hours.

Thank you to so many blipfriends for moral and sponsorship support. It's hugely appreciated and kept me going round about mile 9 when I was seriously questioning my decision to do the walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.