chrislewis

By chrislewis

Mowing By Hand

Time to cut the grass at Mini Anfield. This shows Adam cutting it with a pair of scissors. Very tough and wiry. Strange.

This reminds me of a true, and slightly depressing story. A few years ago I was in India on a work assignment. I was booked into some fancy hotel in the centre of Bangalore - once inside you could have been in Munich, or London or anywhere. Very strange - it was all a far cry from my days backpacking through India on a shoestring, and I hated the opulence and isolation.

Anyway, one day I was at the desk asking about something and I noticed that the beautiful lawn outside was being carefully cut by a row of women armed with shears. There must have been at least twenty of them working methodically along the grass.
I asked the guy at the desk why they didn't just get a lawnmower. He looked right at me and said, 'Because a lawnmower would be more expensive, Sir.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.