See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

Mobbed By The Hungry Masses

Backblipped on Monday

OMG........I've never seen so many people in one place before!!
I arrived at my daughter's Food Festival stall at just after 10.30 am and the hoards started to descend, even though it wasn't supposed to start until 11am.
I got to work immediately.............and didn't stop (not even briefly for food or drink ) until we sold out of every scrap of food at 3.30pm!! ( some stalls had also sold out by 2pm as the demand was so great) .......every time I looked into the sea of faces the queue was so long I couldn't see the end of it.........some people were saying they had queued for 40 minutes ( and amazingly had one person queue for seconds because they enjoyed the food so much!!).
If we hadn't run out of food we would have still been going strong at 5 pm when the festival closed .........but I was glad we ran out because I was shattered ( so was my daughter and her partner and they still had all the washing up to do when they got home )
I was mostly in charge of taking the money, which was fine while the mobile internet was connecting to the accounting cloud but it dropped out for about 10 minutes around 2pm and I had to add everything up in my head, work out the change and count it out correctly in small denominations because we ran out of pound coins .......that was a real nightmare when I was so tired but we made it through and I had a great sense of achievement at being so useful for the entire time I was needed :-)))
Needless to say I was completely exhausted by the time I got home but felt happy with the day...........however, I wouldn't want to have to do too often :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.