Care of the council

I can always remember being told about the way that the council workers did their job. One working, two watching and all three wedged into the cab of the van at lunchtime reading the Sun.

I'm sure that this isn't quite true, any more than the idea that council gardeners invariably prune shrubs into balls and cubes. There is, however, more evidence as to the truth of the last statement as can be seen in this photograph near Aldi in Oban. I remember the same thing happening in Edinburgh when I lived and worked there.

There are moves afoot to make some improvements to the 'gardens' in and around McCaig's Tower in Oban. I'm trying to persuade them to abandon the 'balls and cubes' style in favour of a 'no prune' regime, simply by choosing the right trees and shrubs for the right places. A great deal less work and a far better appearance. We'll see. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.