Truly Blippin' Marvelous

By JohnEdward

Escape?

    Many of you with cats will understand this - unless you have cat-flaps that that allow them to come and go as they please. The town does not like roaming cats ( not the first town that has a leash law for domestic  cats!) and passed a bylaw making it a misdemeanor to let your cats roam - so naturally we have a few cats that grab every opportunity to escape out to the sunshine. Boodi was getting a little uncooperative after the umpteenth attempt to capture a contrived escape. And I don't look very convincing at trying to stop him but he is so quick.

       A morning of frustration: two trees have been removed from the front of the Springerville Post Office and this morning seeing the new clear view (no parked cars) and strong shadows decided to stop for a snap. Low and behold between parking and get out with camera a truck parked. I thought, "OK, I can wait; PO business doesn't take long. There is a Post Office parking lot but many people just picking up mail park on the street for convenience. I waited; whiled away the time taking another snap; then I see the person finally emerge not from the PO but from the truck and go to another business - this after five minutes. I wait a little longer whilst other vehicles come and go with gaps that I could have taken a snap and been on my way. Meanwhile the shadows are moving with the rising sun. The driver of the truck finally returned and then went into the  PO "Not much longer now," I thought. Finally the person comes back to the truck, gets in and - sits, and sits and I give up. Am I too impatient? Think I'll stick to animals - their behaviour is a little more predictable.

Edited to add: This evening after wandering on the interwebs and fetching a book (the first book of photography I ever bought) from my shelves I discover that Bruce Barnbaum has a presence on the web. I excerpted this from an essay on his web site:

       " ...The greatest failures I have found from those employing digital approaches are two-fold. First there is a difference in the way traditional and digital photographers photograph. To put it semi-facetiously (but with a great deal of truth to it), traditional photographers look and then shoot; digital photographers shoot and then look (at the LCD screen on the back of the camera, of course). My observations at workshops show remarkably little careful seeing among digital practitioners prior to snapping the shutter release. ..."


       It was good to peruse the book I have Visual Symphony: a photographic work in four movements. especially the second movement adagio, ma non troppo The Cathedrals of England

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.