Photos of things I see

By Aboak

The Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome, Glasgow

Here's a shot of the inside of the shiny new velodrome that will host the 2014 Commonwealth Games track cycling events. It bears the name of our national cycling hero and Olympic legend.

This weekend it was host to the UCI Track Cycling World Cup and was the first major event to be held here. It's a really impressive venue, built in the shadow of another arena of sporting greats - Celtic Park, just across the road.

As a keen cyclist myself, I could really appreciate the skill, strength and bravery of the competitors. The steepness of the banks is terrifying to a duffer like me and my previous notions of 'having a wee shot one day' have now firmly been dispelled. I'll watch from the safety of the seats.

The whole family had a great time, and I hope this will cement both of my children's cycling enthusiasm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.