Gone Greek

Berry and Helen mentioned they had a holiday booked for Zante in Greece, coinciding with some days off I'd also booked. I was supposed to be sorting my life out to move countries, but who can resist the lure of sun and feta?

I haven't been to Greece since 2002 when there was a skinny dipping incident that ended badly on Kos. Naming no names, but bananablip was there.

During the journey an ABBA track was played and I was transported to images of Meryl Streep in Mamma Mia, crooning between the olive groves and whitewashed buildings with faded blue paint. The budget airline - a step up from Ryanair - has had to issue and communicate a passengers' manifesto to combat antisocial behaviour, i.e. excessive drinking, on board. Such are the obnoxiousness levels we have reached.

I arrived earlier than Berry and Helen and went into the airport grounds to bask and take photos. I worried about being mistaken for an illegal plane spotter following that incident involving Brits years ago. Then realised my attire wasn't Craghoppers shorts with removable legs and that the resemblance was poor.

We collected a car then located our accommodation in the middle of a very touristy strip. The balmy temperatures were perfect. September is an excellent time to visit Greece. Excepting Helen who is vegetarian and will be eating a lot of Greek salads on this trip, Berry and I had a very meaty pork souvlaki dinner served by an exuberant restaurant owner, and then we were done for the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.