Bouquetin with Mont Blanc as Backdrop

... I was willing him to turn the other way!

"La Grande Vire" was indicated off the main path on the descent route from the Dents du Morcles. If it was ever going to be in good condition it was now, after the hot, dry, summer. It was narrow and very airy. But it was the fact that it went up that almost made me turn back.... my legs had run out of umph. Then I saw them, 3 male bouquetins on a rediculously exposed cliff, just lying down! As I passed underneath the cliff here, the one in extra was looking down at me which gave the long lens a great shot to show his foot as he scratched his back. What a superb day, and so glad that I have done significant walks in the last week so that I am not suffering too much tonight!

For those who know the area, I started from Javerne. The second extra shows the summit, fortunately there were 3 other people on top who had come up by another route.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.