Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A wee local scandal ...

I've been meaning to blip a photo of this building in Innellan for some time now. I wish I'd done it sooner, but we've always been scooting past on our way somewhere else; today we were actually walking up the hill past it. "It" is part of the remains of a hotel that was burned down, leaving the bar and a garage and this blank and unsightly wall, with some boarded-up window spaces. As part of the recent efforts to brighten up Innellan, a local artist painted the wooden boarding, and I've combined two photos to show the best ones. I especially love the cat swinging from the chandelier.

But I more especially love the story attached to the two ladies in the bottom left window in this photo. When they originally appeared, the nearest one had her towel slipping down to reveal one breast, while the figure in the background had a bare bottom as she dried herself. Apparently someone complained, and a little later they were painted over in the interests of decency. A pity ...

My extra photo, in case I leave myself with some remaining at the year's end, is of a red fuchsia bush on the shore in Innellan. I was so pleased to see the sun and the sea looking blue after the thick grey fog of the morning that it was the first thing I saw when I got out of the car.

I may survive coming home after all - though I'm not at all happy about tomorrow's weather forecast ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.