ANYONE FOR CAKE.

It’s over cast and very windy today so I’ve stayed in the house baking this morning. I’ve made a lasagne for this evening’s meal a fruit cake and orange cake for Mr T and his friend Peter. They’re both going fishing tomorrow and I usually make them some cakes to go with their lunch. The kettle and whisk are just props for my still life. I’m going out this afternoon to have coffee with my friend then we’ll walk round the shops in Princess Risbough.

Orange pound fruit cake recipe
3 large eggs
¾ cup (160g) caster sugar
1⅓ cup (160g) all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon baking powder
⅔ cup (150g) salted butter
1 large orange (juice + zest)
Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C) and grease a loaf tin.
In a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy.
Sift in the flour with the baking powder, stirring well.
Melt the butter in a saucepan and pour it into the batter.
Juice and zest the fresh orange and incorporate.
Pour the batter into the loaf tin and bake for 40 minutes.
Allow the cake to cool completely before serving.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.