it'll be alright on the night. We hope.

We bought tickets to see War Horse over two years ago.   Anniemay was on the phone to the theatre,  trying to book tickets when she put her hand over the mouth piece and called out to me; "how confident are you feeling about the future?"  I did not understand the question so she repeated it. 

"Why?" I ask.  "Because it's for September 2018, not September 2016."

What could possibly go wrong in the next two years, I wondered.  She's thinking about the state of my health, but I'm more concerned with the bigger picture.  The state of the world is just a bad dream. A blip at worst. We'll soon wake up and come to our senses.

"Pretty good."  I reply. "Buy four tickets."  Thus speaks the voice of an optimist.

So tonight's the night.  I'm still coughing and wheezing.  Anniemay is now coughing and sneezing, and Sian, Chris' girlfriend is on crutches, having dislocated her knee on holiday.

Our four seats are in the middle of a row.  We'll take plenty of tissues (for sneezing, not crying) and Sian may be able to rest her leg on the shoulder of the person in front.  

Given the current state of the world, I think we got off pretty lightly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.