Re-Live

Hsieh Ying-Chun

I'm not sure that the tents themselves work very well; they simply aren't visually very appealing. However, the architectural practice, whose work is exhibited inside the tents is a remarkable thing. Working on community projects, disaster relief and the like, Hsieh Ying-Chun explains how important it is to engage those that will use the buildings in future in all aspects of the design, decision-making and then construction of the space. He concentrates on the usual buzzwords, such as sustainability, affordability and ecological impact. But then he puts it all together in a quite outstanding fashion.

This piece has been in Exchange Flags, near where I work, and I hadn't bothered with it much until today. But I'm glad I spent 10 minutes to find out a bit more.

And there is, of course, an obvious reference to Occupy here as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.