Little boat of management

An easy morning, followed by a long afternoon meeting. I present my observations and we plan tomorrow’s workshop. And then two of the managers want conversations. Eventually I get back to the hotel with only 10 minutes until we leave for the team night out.

The evening starts with a boat ride, with Cava, salami, and cheese. There are five boats for up to 7 people. It’s sunny and calm. We’re forbidden from actually heading out of the pond into the river. Our boat is piloted by Marejka (a ‘proxy’), and has me, Doreen (solution manager), and Bennie (program manager and holder of the corporate credit card). I can’t imagine why no one wanted to join us.

Then, as it got dark, there was bbq and salad on the restaurant boat. I sat with some folk upstairs, as night fell and the warm breeze cooled. A heavily perspiring waiter carried drinks up and down the stairs - mainly local Belgian beer, which was understandable since we are on the Belgian side of the Maas.

I avoid Bennie’s bottle of grappa. Joachen gives me a lift back to the hotel. I’m probably not going to sleep well tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.