Oscar!

Here he is! Oscar des pres de Gentiane, the Berger Picard!  You can see his wonderful , distinctive ears in the extra! He is only 16 weeks old and you can see he's going to be a big dog! His paws are huge too!
There was an early morning panic as the vet had not signed the other dogs passport - but after a call to The Exiles vet and a trip to another vet in Calais it was signed and they were on their way as were we! It was a melee of dogs at the service station before we set off! Oscar went through a round of whining, barking and howling before settling down and sleeping to Bristol. The Exile and I shared the driving which was good as neither of us had slept well! I had done the drive up the previous day and the M4, she did the M25 and the drive back down! I sat with Oscar till we got to the M4 where we swopped the driving and The Exile sat in the front to Bristol. Sister was delighted with Oscar - and we took him into the garden where he fell straight in the pond hence his wet appearance in the first extra! He settled on the kitchen floor as we ate and then slept the whole way back to Calstock! The visit to my parents house had stirred up a lot of memories and grief and the talk back was once more a long conversation about parents, upbringing, ageing and loss. I felt exhausted on every level by the time we got home! The Exile hit the gin! Oscar fell asleep on the kitchen floor after eating!
I tried Oscar sleeping in my attic room but as I had expected he wanted to be with The Exile. The added incentive being the presence of 2 black hissing growling cats somewhere in the attic! They were the other side of the bed out of sight and actually side by side - the closet they have ever been! Milkshake was delighted when he left and she snuggled under the covers with me! FatCat was just in a totally furious mood and growled at me when I reached over to turn the light out! 
Well so begins my first day as a dog owner once more, and Oscars new life in England! Wish us luck, the cats included! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.