The frame and instrument shelf at Tenterden Town

A good day as a learner signalman at Tenterden Town signalbox on the Kent and East Sussex Railway. Already a qualified signalman at Wittersham Road I’m learning another box and now have had 5 turns this summer. I have one more turn on the Santa Specials in December but will have to wait until next year for a passing out turn.

A routine sort of day under the beady eye of one of the assistant signalling inspectors learning the details of working the box, mainly focusing on incidents and events that rarely happen. All I have to do is remember what action to take!

I was in two minds which shot to blip today. In the end I don’t think I’ve shown the signal frame here before so this got the nod. Red levels control signals, Black the points, blue to lock the points in position, Brown to lock and unlock the crossing gates and green to give possession to the shunter to control the sidings. White levers are not used.

In the extra the Tenterden Town Stationmaster chats with the Travelling Ticket Inspector (TTI) before the departure of the 2.20pm DMU, all stations to Bodiam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.