Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Paris

In terms of journeys home, it wasn't too bad (if you ignore the M25 and M1 on a Friday evening). After mainly 8am starts during the holiday, we weren't being picked up for the airport until 10.15am, so we managed to sleep in until 7am. We were in a very nice five star hotel in Athens and had been given a suite which was great for spreading out the cases for the final pack before coming home. But have you ever tried to just get a quick beer in a five star hotel? Hot and dusty after we checked in I thought I'd just go down and grab a beer but it wasn't that simple; first, I had to be seated. Then I had to give my room number. Then they took my order. Then the bowl of smoked almonds arrived, followed by the bowl of cashews. Then the bowl of crinkle cut crisps. Finally, the beer came; a small one. After all this palava I thought I'd may as well drink it and as you can imagine, it didn't take long, So back I went to the room for my shower, followed swiftly by a phone call to say that unfortunately I hadn't signed the bill and could they come up and get my signature? And then Room Service knocked to see if everything was OK.

But I digress. A reasonable journey back but both the cameras were packed into the hold luggage so my only chance of a Blip was a phone shot. This is a view of Paris on a cloudy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.