cherish what remains

By clothgirl

visiting the parents

The last few times I have visited my parents, who live in Green Bay, Wisconsin, we've gone out to dinner at the Union Hotel. It's always cold when I'm there so first we hang our coats up in the lobby, then we go into the bar and order a cocktail. They bring menus with the drinks and take your food order. At some point they told us where in the dining room our table was located so when we were ready we just got up, went in and sat down. Within minutes the salad was served. This method of ordering at the bar is not unique to this restaurant because the same thing happens at the Chinese restaurant (and other restaurants in the area). I've been trying to figure out if there's a reason, or benefit (the chef has more time to prepare?) or tradition that it came from, but I have yet to figure it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.