On the way home

I'm uploading this from Heathrow airport while waiting for my connecting flight to Newcastle.

The overnight flight from Calgary was very comfortable. And how lucky is this: both on the way out and on the way back I got a free upgrade to Premium Economy!

Each way we've had a lovely modern plane (Boeing 787 Dreamliner). Seasoned travellers will know that newer planes often have electronic "shutters" on the portholes, presumably working by polarising filters. When the "shutters" were opened this morning the sun was shining in such a way as to produce a light vignette effect which I thought was rather interesting so I took this shot on my phone - no processing at all (except whatever the phone does). It looked like this even with the naked eye so it's not just a quirk of the camera. Blip sorted - a good thing as I won't get home until about 8pm and I may be a bit jetlagged.

We've had the most wonderful trip - thanks to all my blipping (and non-blipping) fellow travellers for making it such fun, and to John Gravett and Mike Beck for doing such a super job of organising and leading it. "Ab fab" doesn't come close to describing it!

Thanks also to all those blippers who've faithfully followed our travels and been generous with comments, stars & hearts. I'm really sorry that I've not had time to do much replying or commenting myself - it's been a "never-a-dull-moment" trip (in the best possible way).

Back to earth now...for a while anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.