Hubris: "excessive pride or self-confidence"

Dear God, what a stinker of a day. 

I always try to focus on the positive in my Blips, to record the things that I'd like to look back on, just let the petty frustrations of everyday life, the occasional bit of bad luck or crappy circumstance, disappear in my wake before sinking out of view.

But there's no avoiding the fact that today was just dreadful. I mean, to keep things in perspective, nobody was hurt or received terrible news, it wasn't *that* bad in the big scheme of things. And it was all work related, if that does somehow make it better. (It didn't feel like it.)

Basically the day went from a typically sunny* start into an absolute shitstorm: three separate, serious issues to deal with. One of them I'd seen coming and the most minor of the three was just an unpleasant surprise and complication to an event I knew about but one of them was out of the blue and as bad as it was unexpected. 

And yet I have to say that, as a company, we responded as well as we possibly could and, by the end of the day, I was very proud of us. Which is a little ironic as I was confident that something like this would never happen to us and, of course, hubris relates to pride and over confidence. Lesson learned. And probably not for the last time. 

Anyway, I did have a couple of beers after work - alcoholic ones - and fell back on the Chinese for dinner for me, Dan, and Abi. Dan and I went down to pick it up, which was the one chance I had to take a photo, today.

*metaphorically speaking. The surprise summer in Cumbria is definitely over. 

****
-13.9 kgs
0 words
Bill Drummond's 'How To Be An Artist'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.