Close Encounters of the Herd Kind

A long but uneventful journey. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by our hosts. The weather stayed dry on the journey but it turned drizzly by the time we ‘d unpacked, but we decided to go for our usual wander from the cottage before it got dark. Mr PB spotted a sizeable herd of red deer on the Heath, but they were spooked and ran into the woodland, then I stopped dead in my tracks as a hind appeared on the track in front of me. It stood for a while then trotted back into the wood. Shortly after that, a large stag crossed the path at speed, only a few yards in front of me - quite scary! On the homeward leg across the Heath, we saw quite a few of these fine Parasol mushrooms. I was surprised this picture came out as well as it did as I only had my phone with me to take the picture. I’m sure I’ll have a chance to get back with my camera and have a chance to get some shots of the deer. The weather looks poor tomorrow but the main job is food shopping, and it looks set fair for the rest of the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.