The view from Glenshee

OK, so first things first. I want to say how massively grateful I am to three of my colleagues - Steve, Martin, and Paul - for how amazing they have been over the last two days. The crisis is not over but matters are in hand, to the point where I felt I could go ahead and take the day off, today.

Not that there weren't phone calls and a fair amount of email but, actually, that's not totally unusual and, for the most part I was able to enjoy the journey up to Inverness with the Minx. We took a fairly convoluted route, which was wonderful. The rain, which was fairly constant in Cumbria, became intermittent in Scotland and, north of Glasgow, gave way to a chilly sunshine. 

My favourite part was driving along the road that passes through the Glenshee ski resort, where we stopped for refreshments. There were so many places on the road where I longed for somewhere to pull over and take a photo but I was pleased with this, taken outside the café at the resort. 

We arrived in Drumnadrochit - Druim na Drochaid -  sometime after six o'clock, unpacked, and walked along to the pub for dinner. We are in the relaxing and carb-loading part of the race preparation, which I am enjoying enormously. 

****
-13.3 kgs
0 words
Reading: Bill Drummond's 'How To Be An Artist'. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.