Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Creeton church tower

A sunny morning enticed me out of the house to do some plant recording in a relatively nearby part of Lincolnshire - ostensibly to check out old records of Common Calamint, though I found plenty of other species as well. I started on a footpath near Lound, visited Creeton, walked along The Drift at Counthorpe and ended up walking a road verge near Holywell.

My favourite part of the day was visiting Creeton, the only place where I successfully re-recorded the calamint. The churchyard at Creeton had a fine display of flowering burnet saxifrage, as well as other limestone species such as hoary plantain and lady's bedstraw. The rectory wall had a vigorous Vitis coignetiae, which should be a picture as its deep-red autumn colour develops. I was quite amused by the two elder bushes growing out of the church spire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.