Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Pan Ha' (again)

Why quit when you are on to a good thing?

Another house, another angle, a similar treatment

One problem though. When working with multi-layers, and various brushes and settings for each, it is almost impossible to copy what was done just 24 hours earlier. This is therefore similar but not identical to the effect achieved yesterday.

I intend to do a third tomorrow and no doubt it will differ as well, so they won't really go together as a triptych. For that I will have to process them all together but at 2hrs 30 mins for each, that is not going to happen any time soon.

[EDIT]
Here is a summary of the Processing applied.
I process my images using the free program GIMP but what I say will equally apply to Phtoshop.

1) Make the bottom layer all white

2) Add the main image as layer 2 and process to have the contrast/colour required
Erase unwanted areas/elements (Dianne uses the eraser tool but I prefer the greater control offered by using a layer mask)
Add any extra elements as layers above and position them (I added the bench seat and the two planters seen either side of the house in both this and yesterday's blip)

3) Add extra layers above containing the textures (I used 5:- pantiles, textured glass, wallpaper and two of clouds).
Toggle the visibility to work on each layer. Vary the opacity, contrast and saturation as required then either be brave like Dianne and use the eraser, or add a layer mask for each and work on that.

Dianne uses her own custom brushes when erasing/painting/cloning. I only used some of the presets that came with the program.
Also vary the opacity of the brushes (or paint the mask in greys instead of just B&W)

Dianne only uses the layer opacity control to control the strength of each texture. I used the 'multiply' mode on one of my layers because it was rather weak.

4) Create a new layer from visible and make some final adjustments to curves and colour balance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.