People on a Bridge

By zerohour

Garden Gnome Galore

You may remember this guy, a Greek Orthodox Santa who lived in the corned of our living room in the previous house. I found him at a garage sale, paid five bucks for him (instead of the asking twenty, which I didn't have). The guy who ran the garage sale wanted badly to get rid of Santa, and took all I had, the fiver. Then Husband Dear lugged him home. Then he lived with us in Ann Arbor, then here.

I am sorry to say, we don't have room for him in the house. And so we moved him outside, into the garden. He looks very mysterious and quite fitting in his new location.

He got me thinking about things (as in: possessions). There are very few objects about which I care long term. Our CDs are digitalised, our photos are digitalised, our cars come and go. A few pieces of jewelry perhaps, some art pieces, some mementos of family members long gone? A few favorite books, in Polish and English. No collections to speak of.

I am grateful for blipfoto, because it allows me to store memories without having them take up any physical room. Take my Santa. While he will probably fall apart at some point, I won't miss him (he won't really be absent from my life), because now I have blips of him.

Am I making sense? It's been a long week, and it's just Tuesday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.