If it Isn’t One Thing . . .

. . . it’s another . . .
 
 
This morning I thought I would service our central heating boiler before the weather gets to cold.  Well it hasn’t been done for a couple of years and would best have been done in the summer rather than the autumn in case there is a problem.
 
The furnace was fine, just a light deposit of soot in the upper regions which is near perfect for two years, but could be better so do I put a tad more air on (which would be normal) or turn the oil pressure down a tad (I thought I had set it a little high when I replaced the fuel pump a couple of years back)?
 
The oil pressure won and I made the adjustment to a better flame – AND the pressure adjustment seal decided to leak!!!  (This is why you do these things in the summer when it you have time to make repairs!!!)
 
Well this is where years of engineering experience comes into play, and after I had waggled the adjuster back a forth a few times with the boiler running it stopped leaking – for the moment!!!
 
Now to find a repair kit so that I have it when needed (“if needed” I hope), hence the photo so that I can id the pump.  The adjuster is the one labelled P1.
 
The front will remain off the boiler for a few days now, certainly until I’m happy with it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.